Lavender Spiced Chai Latte


Find yourself a cup of tea; the teapot is behind you. Now tell me about hundreds of things. ~SakiImage

This is my second post on tea and I guess the quote affirms my love for tea- that is if you could see the absence of great quotes from other posts :-)   I would never ever refuse a cup of tea and always had a great company at home and outside to enjoy the small cups of goodness.

A great contrast to my “tea-crazy” self,  my husband is not much of a “tea” or a “coffee” person.  When he first told me of this, I asked him- “Seriously? what kind of person are you??   Five years into marriage, the tea evangelist in me finally managed to get him to (occasionally) enjoy the masala chai that I make at home.

So when this Friday he asked me for a cup of the chai, I tried a slightly different version of the regular masala chai that turned out great.

Image

Ingredients:

  • Water- 4 cups
  • Loose black tea leaves- 3  tsp, I used Darjeeling tea
  • Cinnamon- 1 Tsp (coarsely crushed bark).
  • Ginger (grated)- 1 tsp
  • Cardamom- 3-4 pods crushed
  • Grated nutmeg- a pinch
  • Dried Lavender buds- 1/4 tsp

Image

Instructions

  • Place 3 cups water in a small saucepan.
  • Add cardamom, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg and Lavender.
  • Add sugar per taste if you are using or any sweetener)
  • Bring to a boil over high heat.
  • Reduce heat to low
  • Simmer until the mixture (and your kitchen) smells aromatic, about 10 minutes.
  • While the tea is simmering, prepare the milk.
  • If you have a milk frother at home, go ahead and use it.  I do not have one, so I  used the following trick that turned out pretty well.
  • Heat milk in microwave for about a minute. Transfer to a glass jar with a tight lid.  Shake vigorously for about 30 sec.
  • Open the lid carefully and with the back of your spoon hold off the froth.
  • Strain the tea into cups and add milk.
  • Spoon the froth and top off the chai.
  • Dust lightly with cinnamon powder and enjoy

Note: I used 2% milk and the froth was good enough.  You can use whole milk for thicker froth.

Image

 

4 thoughts on “Lavender Spiced Chai Latte

  1. I’m a coffee person (like you I simply can’t compute if someone is neither a coffee nor a tea person … it’s like, what??) but you very easily can convert me with your truly delicious and inviting masala chai concoctions.

  2. This sounds right up my street, and looks nice, too! Just browsed through your blog (need to do extensive reading later!), and smiled as I’m having friends over tomorrow night for an Indian dinner (just made paneer a moment ago) and I’m sure will find more cooking inspiration here!

Leave a Reply

