Restaurants- Troy Mezze, Raleigh, NC


It was not my initial idea to write about restaurants when I started off on this blog.    But of late my dining out experiences have been too good, so I decided that it does not hurt to write few words when you come across good restaurants and eating experiences.

Troy Mezze is situated in a tranquil and relaxing little street in downtown Raleigh.   During our visit to the city, we visited that Historic Blake Street and spent an idyllic evening there.   A stroll down the street revealed through the old streets, cobblestone paths that are lined up by quaint little shops.

IMG_0039  IMG_0030

IMG_0026

Down further, you actually stumble upon a lot of great eating places, one of which is Troy Mezze.   When the chef and one of the co-founders of the place said that it was the best and the only Turkish restaurant in the area, I had no hesitation whatsoever accepting it.

The first thing I noticed when I took in the surroundings of the restaurant were its warm hues, walls draped with kilim rugs, and ornate-colored glass lanterns over the bar.   Then I looked at the Menu and I was lost.  I did know a little bit of Turkish cuisine, but I was totally unprepared for what I saw.  That plus the fact that I was only supposed to take a stroll at the Historic Blake street and my presence there was totally away from the lunch OR the dinner time was not helping either.

IMG_0042

IMG_0043 IMG_0051

So, I settled for what seemed to me at that time the most reasonable choice- Troy Platter- A sampler of Hummus, Spicy Tapas, Haydari, Baba ghanouj, Lentil patties, Turkish red beans (Barbunya Pilaki), Stuffed grape leaves (Yaprak Dolmasi),Tabboulleh.   My favorites were the Baba ghanouj (eggplant mashed and mixed with virgin olive oil and various seasonings), Dolmasi (grape leaves stuffed with rice, pine nuts, currants and onions) and the Haydari, yogurt with bonus sprinkling of chopped walnuts and mint.

IMG_0044

So, here it is- Troy Mezze on the Historic Blake Street in Raleigh.  A perfect place for an idle stroll and also the home to a lots of good restaurants.  I recently read that good food eaten in good surroundings makes it a great experience.  Blake street and Troy Mezze did that for me.

A little note here: I being a vegetarian had “limited” choice for food.  While I really cannot talk about the meat containing dishes, I did hear that their Turkish style pizza (specifically the lamb pizza) was very popular.

Another note:  Did I tell you that on Friday evenings are Troy Mezze’s live performance evenings?

Leave a Reply

