Tea Love


Tea Leaves
Tea Loves
Loves Tea
Lives Tea
Leaves Tea?
Never!
– Uniek Swain

Offer me a strong cup of tea (or coffee for that matter), anytime in the day I never say no.    I bank on my cuppa to start the day off with vigor, as a pick me up for busy afternoons or just to feel good 🙂

When you make Indian style chai, milk is imperative, I believe that is what makes tea a chai.   Only time I ever have tea without milk is when I make Green Tea.  The process is quite simple, I boil milk, water, tea leaves together.  Add some grated ginger and sugar. Boil till required strength and there, I am done with my chai.  Sometimes, I add crushed cardamom pods.

All that changed when I sampled a flavorful black tea at Teavana.  It was heavenly and it was black!! Inspired by the taste,  I made my own mix of spiced tea. I know that I am going to have more cups of black tea from now on.

Ingredients:

  • Loose tea leaves ( I used Darjeeling) 1/2 tsp
  • Cinnamon- 2-3 Tsp (not the powder, coarsely crushed bark).
  • Ginger (grated and dried)- 3 tsp
  • Cardamom- 8-9 pods crushed
  • Combine all the ingredients and store in an airtight jar.

Note:  If you want more stronger tea flavor, feel free to increase 1/2 tsp- 3/4 or more.

DSC_0252

The Tea:

  • Boil a cup of water
  • Add your tea spice mix.
  • Steep till desired strength
  • Strain into a cup
  • Add sugar per taste. Enjoy.
  • Add milk to the cup if you want Chai (Tea Latte).

DSC_0260

DSC_0276

2 thoughts on “Tea Love

  1. I’m a big fan of Indian style chai tea and so happy to find a real recipe for it. I’ll have to save it for cooler months but I’ll definitely be trying this. Love the poem by the way! It reminds me a lot of how my mom writes.

    ps very happy to find you and your blog! 🙂

    • Hello Azita, thank you for stopping by my blog. And I think the feelings for tea are mutual. I tasted Persian tea at my friend’s place. And I loved it. The tea and the special tea maker, not sure what it is called.

      I am glad I have come across your blog, loved it. I am a huge Persian food fan and I absolutely love your writing style.

Leave a Reply

