Simple mixed vegetable rice salad


I am back after a much needed break.   My ill-health last few days has resulted in an incredible increase on unwanted weight ( I am not kidding when I say, I put on close to 11 pounds in a week, not at all good, I know).  I feel much better right now and have decided it is time to let go of the extra pounds that I gained.

Let the “diet” begin 🙂

This particular recipe is easy to make, colorful and quite wholesome by itself.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup long grain rice (I used Basmati)
  • 1 bunch spring onions
  • 1 green bell pepper, sliced
  • 1 red bell pepper, sliced
  • Corainder
  • 2 medium tomatoes- skinned and chopped
  • Salt and pepper- to taste

Dressing:

From the original recipe:

  • 6 Tbsp low-fat French or Tomato Dressing
  • 1 Tbsp Dijon Mustard
  • Place the dressing and mustard in a screw top jar and mix well.

Note:  I used my own tomato home-made dressing:

  • Heat 2 Tbsp olive oil in a skillet, add mustard seeds, let them splutter, add chopped tomato and a handful of coriander.  Cook till soft, add some salt and red chilli powder and blend till smooth.

Recipe:

  • Cook the rice in a pan of lightly salted boiled water for 10 min until tender but not overly cooked.
  • Drain the rice, rinse under cold running water and drain again.  Cool completely
  • Place rice in a large serving bowl.  Add the chopped vegetables.
  • Stir the dressing into the rice and adjust seasoning per taste.Untitled 7
Leave a Reply

